Summer Favorites 2016

Happy Fall everyone! Close friends know that fall is my favorite time of the year with it being the season of Halloween, my most favorite holiday of all time.

But before I forget all the hot summer days and dive into my love which is fall, I wanted to share with you my summer favorites. These are items that I have discovered either in makeup (lets be honest, almost all of them are makeup) beauty products or fashion. So without further ado, I give to you my Summer Favorites 2016.

Since most of my favorites are makeup items, let’s first start with the makeup items.

Benefit’s Watt’s Up! Cream Highlighter

img_2698

The first favorite is a highlighter. I know I know, I’m late to join the highlighting wagon, but I am here now and now feel like my face is a ghost without them.

I’ve always wanted to try highlighting my face but I one didn’t know how to do it or what product I should use. I watched carefully at how my favorite Youtube makeup artists did their highlighting and one day while at Sephora with my sister I was looking at highlighters and the one that caught my eye the most was the Benefit’s Watt’s Up! Cream Highlighter.

The bulb like packaging is very hard to miss. On one side is the formula and on the opposite side is a huge sponge to blend the highlight out. I was already interested in the product because it was by Benefit, my favorite high-end makeup brand (for the adorable vintage packaging and the good formulas) so I knew that the formula would be great. When I swatched it on my hand I was happy to see that the product not only was soft and smooth (not heavy and hard to blend) but how it also was a soft highlight and not the “get your sunglasses on cause I’m gonna blind you” bright color. The huge sponge on the end is not only perfect for beginners like me but makes the process go faster so I’m not spending hours on just highlighting my face. It is a little more expensive than your drugstore highlighter, but it does last a long time, I got mine in early June and I still have a lot of product left.

Benefit’s Hoola Matte Bronzer

img_2699

So with me trying out highlighting, of course I couldn’t try highlight without also bronzing. I was a little more nervous with trying bronzer so I wanted to try something simple. Benefit’s Hoola Matte Bronzer was the perfect match for me because of the formula being matte, so no shine (that’s what the highlight is for).

The product comes with it’s own brush but I like to use my own brush to powder over my chin cheeks and forehead. It does take a little bit to blend it in (around the cheeks) but I love how it gives me the natural-looking “tan” all day. I was nervous that I would end up not using as much bronzer so I only got a sample, but I ended up loving it and it goes well with my makeup routine!

Benefit’s CORALista Coral Blush

img_2700

When it comes to blushes, I can’t get enough of coral! I was originally using the Coral color by Maybeline (can’t remember the exact name but I know it was in there Fit Me collection) but had always wanted to try Benefit’s Coralista Coral blush. Every time I went to either Sephora or Ulta to get it they were always out, so when I went with my sister (to get the highlight and bronzer) I was happy to see it stocked and had to get my hands on it.

Like Hoola Matte Bronzer, Coralista coral blush came with its own brush but I like to use my own brush to lightly brush it over my cheeks under the highlight. I can see why it was always sold out in stores, this blush definitely goes under my go to blushes of all time.

Benefit’s Brow Collection: Goof Proof Brow Pencil, Gimme Brow, High Brow Glow Brow Highlighter

img_2697

This summer Benefit came out with a whole new brow collection that is to die for. Before I was using a cheap little pallet and was ready for a brow makeover. I first was introduced to the collection through some of my favorite Youtube makeup artists (they got a first look at it…lucky ducks) so when it finally reached stores I had to get my hands on them.

Nine products came out (some were old products with a new formula which is awesome) and of course with Benefit being Benefit with eye catching silver packaging with bright pink lettering. Even though there is nine products, that doesn’t mean you don’t have to get all nine products to sculpt the perfect brow. Everyone has different eyebrow needs so everyone can find one product helpful and a one not so helpful. Another thing I love about this collection is that there is six different shades (numbered from 01-06) to choose from ranging from light to deep. Once you find your number (I am number 04- medium) you can easily pick out the other brow products you want without going through the hassle of finding your color again.

Out of the nine products I found three of them to be my favorite. I first use to shape my brows the Goof Proof Eyebrow pencil. After testing it out for the first time I can honestly say that the name “Goof Proof” lives up to it’s name. It gives inexperienced people with eyebrows (like myself) an easy way to fill and shape your eyebrows in little to no time which is perfect for me cause I always seem to be running late to school or work.

After I use Goof Proof I go to the Gimme Brow Volumizing Eyebrow Gel. Gimme Brow is awesome because it is a tinted eyebrow gel that gives the look of fullness and definition. I use Goof Proof and Gimme Brow as a pair, goof proof to shape and fill my brows than Gimme Brow as a “gel glue” (don’t worry it doesn’t glue your brows…that would be bad) to help tame them and give them fullness.

So of course with highlighting the rest of my face, highlighting my eyebrow bone is a no brainer! And what better product to do that than the High Glow Brow Highlighter. Like I mentioned earlier, High Brow and High Brow Glow are two of the old products that have new packaging and a new formula and I am so happy with this new formula. The old High Brow Glow had a beautiful champagne-pink shade but was difficult to blend. Now with the new formula I get the best of both worlds! It really pops out the eyebrows (even though they get hidden with my huge glasses) and really goes well with the highlight on my cheeks and nose bone.

Too Faced Melted Matte Liquefied Matte Lipstick

img_2701

Believe it or not my next makeup favorite is not a Benefit product! I will now and forever be obsessed with the dark lip look and when shopping at Sephora or Ulta I am always in search for my next favorite color. When I was a Sephora I was checking out one of the endcaps talking about liquid lipstick. I’m not a huge fan of liquid lipstick but when I saw that this Too Faced liquid lipstick dried matte I had to swatch it. I swatched it as well as other lipsticks and continued looking around Sephora. As we were shopping around Sephora I looked down at my hand to see that the Too Faced lipstick had indeed turned matte and had to go grab that lip color from that endcap. That color was Drop Dead Red and has been my favorite lip color since. The lip color not only long lasting but stays matte and doesn’t itch or burn your lips.

Since that purchase, I have gotten back to get two more colors, Sell Out, a matte soft pink brown perfect for summer, and Evil Twin, a matte deep dark cherry color for my sassy dark days. Unfortunately I have lost my all time favorite Drop Dead Red but with it now being fall I have a feeling that I will be reunited with it again soon!

Those are all the makeup favorites, now to move on to the beauty products.

Jergens Natural Glow Self Tanner: Color Primer, Instant Sun, Tan Extender

p1010854

The first beauty product (or products in this case) I want to talk about is Jergens Natural Glow Self Tanner. Now like with everything else, I have no idea what I am doing, and with staying inside everyday with two jobs and being sick of my veiny legs (tmi?) I was just sick of being pasty white during the summer so I was willing to try self tanner. I was looking into getting the self tanner version of Benefit’s Hoola Bronzer but with me being such a beginner I didn’t want to spend too much money on something I could end up hating or barley using. So at target I saw that Jergens had new (could be new, could be old) self tanner products so I thought I would give it a shot. I already knew Jergens was a brand I trusted because I have always used their Ultra Healing lotion and each product was reasonably priced.

Now unfortunately I have to say that I don’t have a full review on the products because I didn’t use them as much as I first intended to… which I knew that would end up happening so it worked out for me in the end! For the few times that I actually used these products I wish I would have gotten a darker shade. I got the Light Bronze shade which barely showed a difference (I am naturally light tan). But for being a foam formula I thought that for my first shot of self tanner, It worked out pretty well.

Glamglow GravityMud Firming Face Mask

p1010822

I will be honest, the only reason why I got this product was because I saw one of my favorite Youtube makeup artist use this and I was caught on to it because the mask was legit silver. After trying it though I could feel it firming my face without burning it like other masks has before. Also it doesn’t take as long to dry and something ever so satisfying about peeling a silver layer of skin off your face keeps me going back to it during my weekly cleaning routine. I haven’t used the other two masks yet but I am excited to see how they feel on my face.

Note, the other two masks smell wonderful, the silver mask has a strong coconut smell. I personally don’t like the smell of coconuts, but the pure fact of having a silver face for 20 minutes beats the smell of coconuts. If you don’t like the smell of coconuts, you may not like this product especially since they are a little on the pricey side.

Soap & Glory The Scrub of Your Life

p1010808

Like most of my makeup/beauty products I see a youtube use them and I have to get my hands on it. But of course with my luck both the Walgreens and the CVS Pharmacy near where I live don’t have Soap & Glory (don’t worry, I checked both places) and when I finally found a small section of the brand at my local Ulta I didn’t even find the products she even talked about. But that’s ok, because I found something better.

On a side note before even getting into the actual product can I please take a moment to talk about the packaging Soap & Glory has. To begin with they have a vintage look to every product like Benefit Cosmetics does which I am attracted to but if you take the time to read what each product says, it’s hard to not buy all of their products at once. Like with the Scrub of Your life the front lists off what it does to you skin and casually adds to the end “you start to believe that scrub can conquer all”. Is that not cute or not?! On the back when it is talking about how to use the product it tells customers to “follow all this with Soap & Glory body moisturizer, but we’re biased.” What about that doesn’t make you smile… or in my case want to buy all of their products?!

But back to the actual product. I believe this is the scrub of my life… just like the name says. I put it on my elbows, knees and my heels and instantly feel smoother and I do find myself thinking that this scrub can conquer all (tehe :D). Plus it has a wonderful lime smell to it which makes it even better to use. I am almost out with this bottle and is pretty affordable so I will definitely be repurchasing this in the future.

Soap & Glory Heel Genius

p1010810

A problem I have noticed I’ve been having this summer is my extra dry heels. Working on my feet for 8-16 hours a day (I know, I worked too much) wearing either tennis shoes or converse over time did nothing but take away any moisture on my feet. But with it being sandal season, I wanted to be able to wear sandals and not feel like people are staring at my extra dry heels (like they would anyways?? You never know.) So when I saw this product I couldn’t help but buy it. Like the rest of their products, the cute saying killed me inside (in a good way of course). It first starts out with “NO MEAN FEET” which I found personally hilarious. It then went on how to use the product but put in “or at least as often as you remember” which if I didn’t have to find a cure for my extra dry heels I would buy and try just for that sentence there. That shows that the people at Soap & Glory understand that we are all complicated forgetful human beings just trying to solve the problem of having dry feet, and for that I applaud and thank you.

Now I say that last sentence because I am truly a complicated forgetful human, aka I forgot most nights to do this. But after only one time of using it I found results the next day. Plus in the morning when I took my socks off the scent of orange and lemon was still on my feet. If using this product helped my extra dry feet feel moisturized after using it a few times, just think of how they would feel if I actually remembered to use this product?

Sandals and More Sandals

Speaking of feet, my last two favorites are two pairs of sandals.

p1010796

The first pair I found at target, a cheaper knock off brand from everyone’s favorite Birkenstock sandals. I fell in love with them right after buying them. I could wear them with anything, from a comfy t-shirt and jean short pair to my favorite striped dress, these shoes were worn daily. They were worn so much the bottom is starting to tear off.

p1010795

The next pair I found on clearance (10 dollar steal) at Payless Shoe store when I went to visit my little sister in late June early July. The brand is a brand I have never heard of called Christian Siriano and I instantly fell in love with the contrast between the black and white bottoms. These shoes go great with my favorite skinny  jeans or a cute dress.

So there are my summer favorites! If you are interested in any of the makeup or beauty products, I do have most links below. Also if you like this type of blog let me know, I had so much fun taking these photos (I painted the background myself). Also let me know if you have any ideas for any blog posts, with fall and Halloween being my favorite time of year I have a lot of blog ideas (and hopefully doodles) planned for you!

Hope your summer was well spent and let the fall time begin!

XOXO

-Kat