How To Make A Clipping Mask on Text

Happy December and welcome to another blog post!

Recently I’ve noticed that a good majority of my doodles I’ve created on Adobe Illustrator revolve around the same technique… Using clipping masks to put textures on text (I’ve been enjoying doing that to make my favorite quotes stand out). Sometimes just having a cool or fancy font alone isn’t enough, so by putting a texture on text it makes the text stand out more. Using a clipping mask is a easy and a very useful technique to make text stand out.

If you want to or have been wondering how I do it, you have come to the right place! Now text isn’t the only thing you can put a clipping mask on (it works on any shapes as well) but for the sake of this blog post I’m going to demonstrate it on text. So let’s get started!

Step 1: Text Type on Art board

1-type-text-using-text-tool

Select the Type tool on the Tools Panel and click anywhere to type and start typing. Since it is the Christmas season I chose a more festive saying.

Step 2: Change Font to Desired Font and Size

2-change-font-to-desired-font-and-size

Highlight Text and Change the font to the desired font family and size. I chose two different fonts to highlight each word in a different way.

Step 3: Place Texture

3-place-texture-onto-artboard

Under the File Menu select Place and choose the desired texture from your computer. I chose a gold texture that goes well with the saying.

Step 4: Arrange Texture to Back of Text Send to Back.

4-arrange-texture-to-back-of-text

When you place the texture onto the art board, it automatically puts it in the front. In order for the Clipping Mask to work, the text has to be in front (think of the text as the “Mask”). To put the texture behind the text under the Object Menu choose Arrange > Send to Back.

Step 5: Create the Clipping Mask

5-select-all-and-create-clipping-mask

Now it is finally time to Create the Clipping Mask! Important Note: Make sure BOTH the Text and the Texture are selected, it will not work if one isn’t selected. Under the Object Menu choose Clipping Mask > Make.

Step 6: Editing the Clipping Mask

6-clipping-mask-created

If you decide you don’t like the Clipping Mask or decide to only have one word the Clipping Mask, choose Object > Clipping Mask > Release. To Edit the Clipping Mask choose Object > Clipping Mask > Edit Mask.

Step 7: Finishing Your Art

7-add-background-or-whatever-desired

Now that you have your text created, now it is time to finish your artwork! I added a box around the text and a background photo of my Christmas tree. Or if you really want all the attention to be on the text you don’t have to put any background. It is your art, do whatever makes you happy with it!

Conclusion

I hope this helps you if you want to create your own Clipping Mask Text or just curious to know how I do it. Like I said before using the Clipping Mask technique is an easy and useful way to make text or any shapes stand out. I hope you enjoyed this blog post and I will see you on the next post!

XOXO

Kat