Let’s Get Chatty// Bringing Things Together

Hi there and welcome to another blog post! I’m starting this blog post at 11:30 pm and I have to be at work at 8 am tomorrow so I don’t know how long this blog post is going to be but since it is Sunday and I recently put a post on Instagram that there will be blog posts every Tuesday and Sunday I didn’t want to leave you guys hanging with what’s left of Sunday.

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-11-32-27-pm

I was gonna blog about my collection of pastel things (believe me there’s a lot and it just seems to keep growing) but that would have involved doing a photoshoot and then editing the photos and I did not have time on my side today. Instead since I didn’t want to leave you hanging I thought I would just chit chat with you a little.

The Habit of Losing Things

What I originally planned on how my day would go when I woke up this morning was that I was going to spend a few hours working on my project in the morning. When I felt like I was at a good stopping point or I was hungry, I would take a break, go grocery shopping with David, spend some time with him, and then spend the rest of my day working on a good blog post. That of course didn’t happen. I did manage to work on the project (that’s what most of today was spent on) and go grocery shopping but the reason why I am just now working on the blog post because things kept getting in the way of me working on my project.

As you know, I have been working on this secret project for almost a month now and with each day I get closer and closer to getting it where I want it and then finally sharing it with you. It was a goal to get a huge chunk of it done on my day off, getting it from my computer screen to paper in my hands, but losing and looking for items kept stopping me from getting work done. The first time was a ruler I needed. I searched and searched the apartment for a good 20 minutes, David even helped me look, and there was no sign of it anywhere. I was starting to get annoyed and we still needed to go grocery shopping, so I ended up buying a new one. After getting home and getting all the groceries put away I finally sat down and started working. After a little bit I realized I needed the scissors and they were once again, nowhere to be found. I was already a little frustrated from the losing the ruler and was getting more and more frustrated because I remember using them literally the night before and I already lost them. Eventually I found them and was back to working but was still a little worked up after searching for two different items in the same hour.

Now after all this you would think that if I just put the ruler and the pair of scissors where they were supposed to go I wouldn’t have spent all that time finding them. To that I say that even though you do make a valuable point, I have a habit of not doing that and life sometimes has a way of biting bad habits right on your bottom.

Flamingos and Unicorns: Bringing them Together

Now this week I have been very conflicted emotionally. As well all know (or if you don’t you know now) when I first started my brand doodles.by.kat I really wanted to base it off of the season that it was born which is summer so pastel pink, palm trees and my favorite…. The Flaming. Recently my love for pastel pink has gone crazy (aka the idea for my Pastel Pink obsession blog post) and I was online shopping on a website called Lime Crime and fell in love with the mix of metallic silver with all the pastel colors as well as unicorns. I love it so much that this week I was debating dropping the summer flamingo vibe and going ahead with the metallic pastel unicorn vibe. I was so torn because I found something that could go perfect with my brand but I didn’t want to lose what I already had. Then today while I was catching up on the Youtube family The Michalaks’ videos as I was working I realized something.

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-11-08-01-pm

In one of their blogs during this past summer they went to a hotel pool party for an event. They were outside having a great time, there were adorable shots of their son playing with other children when I noticed two familiar figures floating in the pool. A flamingo and a unicorn. I don’t know why it took me until this very moment to realize that it is ok to have both but during that moment I had finally made my decision. As humans it is natural for us to change what we enjoy, but that doesn’t mean we have to completely drop it for something else. I don’t know how I’m going to merge the two, but I will try and keep you guys updated!

Conclusion

There really isn’t a conclusion to this post because I’m not making any real points like I normally do in posts but it looks like I have run out of time and should really head of to bed. Even though today didn’t go exactly how I wanted it to be, I am glad that I got to do a post that didn’t take as much planning as others have and was able to just chat with you. If you enjoyed this as much as I did, I plan on dedicating more posts to just chatting with you because if I don’t, I feel I may lose motivation and get burnt out (especially now that I’m posting twice a week) so look forwards to that!

If you guys want me to still do the “What I own that is Pastel Pink” (still working on a title) let me know, I think it would be fun to shoot and maybe it will help keep the pastel pink craze in control (but it probably won’t but hey worth a shot?).

I’m also going to leave a link to the Michalaks’ Youtube channel down below as well as a link to Lime crime Cosmetics for anyone interested in both. If you have seen my Instagram story a few nights ago you know that I ended up buying a bunch of lipsticks that I plan on doing a blog post about soon!

I hope you guys have a wonderful week and I will see you on Tuesday!

XOXO

-Kat

The Michalaks’ Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/alittlebeautyvlog
LimeCrime Cosmetics: https://www.limecrime.com/

Leave a Reply

