Lime Crime Velvetine Liquid Lipstick Swatches & Review!!

Happy Sunday and welcome to another blog post! If you follow me on Instagram you know that one late late night after watching a bunch of makeup unboxing videos I was browsing around a makeup website called Lime Crime. Lime Crime is a makeup brand set in Los Angeles California and is labeled as “Makeup for Unicorns” which of course I love. Another thing I love is that they are also certified vegan and cruelty free! On a designer point of view I loved how eye catching the website is. I texted my sister saying that Lime Crime’s website is website goals for my own website. So since I have no self control when it comes to awesome makeup I ended up buying 5 of the Velvetine Liquid Lipsticks and then later buying the new Hi-Lite Opals once it came out and got a new lipstick as well with the purchase. So let’s talk about the lipsticks! Side note I am not a professional makeup artist… I’m just a lover of makeup. I got a bunch of things to say so let’s get started!

Packaging

First let’s talk about packaging. Until now, I’ve never ordered anything from Lime Crime so I was excited to see how they package their makeup. When it finally came in the mail and I opened the box I fell in love. On the back flap is Lime Crime’s Logo surrounded by roses and a cloudy background. The lipsticks are covered in pink tissue paper and under all the tissue paper are the words Lime Crime with their social media. It’s so cute I don’t have the heart to throw it away!

Getting to the lipstick packaging the boxes are adorable. It is a metallic box with “Velvetines” written in fun curvy font surrounded by roses just like in the box packaging. On the top of the box is the name of the color as well as a sample of the color that lines the back of the package where it shows Lime Crime’s Logo, info about the brand and certification that they are vegan and cruelty free. Too cute!

When you get the lipstick out the lid matches the box and the color shows through on the bottom lid. I love how all the packaging for all the Velvetines goes with the description of them on the website!

“The original Liquid (matte/metallic) lipstick inspired by Rose Petals”

Swatches

From Top to Bottom:

Blondie:

A Rose Gold Metallic Velvetine

Happi:

A Rose Bronze Metallic Velvetine

Flamingo:

A Bright Fluorescent Pink Matte Velvetine

Prairie:

A Dusky Nude Matte Velvetine

Red Hot:

A Metallic Cherry Red Velvetine

Eclipse:

A Metallic Black Red Velvetine

I am usually a matte type of girl when it comes to lipsticks and just makeup in general, but when I was browsing around Lime Crime’s website I was so interested in their metallic line, I needed to see what the Metallics looked like on my face.

After playing with them, my favorite would be Eclipse because I love how the black red brought out the hints of gold in my dark brown eyes. Plus I am always looking for a new dark red.

That being said, If I prefer a dark color, why get a bright fluorescent pink color like “Flamingo”? Yes it is very very pink, and yes it doesn’t go well with my skin tone, but I couldn’t help but get it because it is called Flamingo aka half my brand’s mascot! The funny thing is that “Flamingo” was only a limited time offer awhile back so I had to go searching for it. I ended up finding it on this awesome website called Dolls Kill! I didn’t get a chance to browse that website, but I plan on doing that sometime soon!

Formula

Now that you’ve seen the colors I’ve gotten, let’s get into the formula!! I’ve had these lipsticks for about a week so I’ve had some time to play with them. Opening each other I noticed that each of them have a vanilla cupcake scent to them, but varied on the intensity of the smell. Out of the 6 colors I got, 4 of them are metallic velvetines and 2 of them are matte velvetines. The metallic lipsticks has a very intense smell of the vanilla cupcake when opening and the matte lipsticks has a faint smell but you can still tell it is there.

Putting the lipstick on it goes on very smooth but it is a little thin so if you want more of a bold color you have to put on a few layers.

Test and Compare

When I look for a liquid lipstick I always look for three things. Is it long lasting? Does it dry my lips out and crack? Does it pass the straw test? If you have read my older blogs you know that my all time favorite liquid to matte lipstick is Too Faced “Melted Matte Liquified Matte Lipstick” in “Drop Dead Red”. This was the first liquid lipstick I found that was matte and I love a dark red lip…as we all know :). I was working long shifts this past weekend so I decided on one day wear “Eclipse” from Lime Crime and “Drop Dead Red” from Too Faced the next and do a comparison with my three test questions so here are the results!

Long Lasting?

On the day I wore “Eclipse” I found that it was very long lasting. The only time I really had to touch it up was after I ate a meal but even then I didn’t have to touch it up much. On the day I wore “Drop Dead Red” I felt like I had to touch up every few hours and by the end of my shift I felt I lost color close to where my top and bottom lip touches.

Does it Dry out and Crack?

Unfortunately both lips did dry out and crack by the end of the night and crack a little (I feel like if I applied a moisturizing lip balm it would have helped) but there was still a difference in how much it dried out my lips. “Drop Dead Red” dries my lips out a lot and I usually have to put a lot of chapstick on just for my lips to feel hydrated again but even though it dried my lips out a little when taking off “Eclipse” at the end of the night I wasn’t rushing to find a chap stick.
The one thing that I loved about “Drop Dead Red” is how thick the formula is so you don’t have to put on as many layers to get the color you want. The downfall of how thick it is, is that the more thicker it is (at least in my opinion) it has a tendency to suck all the moisture in my lips and crack. Since “Eclipse’s” formula is on the thinner side it shows more texture and the creases in my lips (which I noticed it does that more with the metallics than the mattes) even though you have to add more layers if you don’t want the textures and creases of your lips to show but it doesn’t crack as much due to how thin it is.

Does it pass the Straw Test

I have never found a lipstick let alone a liquid lipstick that has passed this part of the test…UNTIL NOW! I was pleasantly surprised when I took a sip out of my coffee to find that there wasn’t lipstick on the straw and for that I have a new respect for Lime Crime.

Test Conclusion

Even though I loved loved “Drop Dead Red” I think I found a new favorite. I still always lean towards a matte color compared to a metallic or gloss so I may have to find another dark color but with a matte finish. If you compare prices “Drop Dead Red” from Too Faced is $21.00 while “Eclipse” from Lime Crime is $20.00 so the prices are similar, so it just depends on which formula you prefer. I still love Too Faced as a brand and I love that they are cruelty free as well, but when it comes to a liquid lipstick, after testing each one I’m going to reach for a Lime Crime Velvetine more than a Too Faced Melted Matte.

Conclusion

So there you have it! I really do love these lipsticks and I can’t wait to try out other colors as well as other makeup products from Lime Crime. Like I said earlier, I did order the Hi-Lite Opals powder palette as well and have also been playing around with that too. Maybe one day when I get enough Lime Crime products and confidence I’ll do a full face tutorial with them… but I’m not ready for that yet tehe!

I hope you enjoyed this little review as well as maybe answered any questions. If you do still have any questions or have any other ideas for makeup review posts let me know in the comments below! Thank you for your time and I will see you on Tuesday with another post!

XOXO,
Kat

Here are the links to any makeup brand’s websites I mentioned:
LimeCrime: https://www.limecrime.com/
Dolls Kill: http://www.dollskill.com/
Too Faced: https://www.toofaced.com/

Leave a Reply

