Let’s Talk About Headers! //Blog Tips 101 Introduction

Happy Tuesday and welcome to another blog post! This blog post is a little different from my usual blog post. On Sunday I posted a lipstick review and while I was writing it I found myself having a little difficulty on the use of headers. It could be that I was tired while writing this or I haven’t had a HTML or CS class since 2015 but I was so stumped on it that I had to re-look it up. After looking it up and was back on my writing spree I started to get distracted from writing once again to think of a new series I’m going to start on this blog! Are you a new blogger? Wouldn’t it be great if there were some helpful tips to becoming a better blogger? Well you are in luck! I bring to you a new series on this blog, Blogging Tips 101 brought to you by yours truly!

*insert Sailor Moon happy yay!*

Here on this series, I will give you tips and tricks on becoming a better blogger! From blogging ideas to coding tips. This series goal is to help upcoming bloggers get tips on the blogging world and even some long time bloggers who need a refresher on some tips… I know I always need a good refresher! So without further ado, let’s jump right on in with the first of the series where we talk about headers!!

What are Headers and why are they awesome for blogging?

Now if you are new to blogging you may be asking yourself, “What are headers?” Headers are what introduces your topic or a point to your audience. They are great for any blog posts because they give attention to a point you are making. Especially when you use the bigger headers, the bigger the header the more attention you are drawing to the point. Another reason why headers are awesome for blog posts is because it keeps the blog post organized. When I write my posts I’ve learned that writing the headers first helps me keep my thoughts and points in line and organized instead of all over the place like my brain. It also gives the reader a different look to your post. If a reader is just reading lots of small words, sooner or later they are going to get bored or lost with the words. You are writing your post for a reason, headers are there to help readers learn your point of view!

The Basics of Headers

So now you know what headers are and why they are awesome for blog posts, you are now ready to use them right?

Well first you need to know the basics!

According to w3schools.com, “Headings are defined with the <h1> to <h6> tags. The <h1> tag is the biggest header to show the most important point while <h6> shows the smallest point and <h2> – <h5> shows all the sizes in between. Personally I don’t usually like using the <h1> tag or the <h2> tag, I think they are borderline to close to the title (which should always have the most attention). The header you will see me use the most is the <h3> tag for my main points and the <h4> tag for my sub points. I think they are at the perfect size for how my website theme is set up plus h3 reminds me of h3h3 productions, one of my all time favorite Youtubers :D.

A quick tip always remember to open the tag with a <hr> (with the number of heading you want) and close it with a </hr>. You just want to draw attention to the main point, without closing it all of your text will be in that heading.

 

Bring on the Headings!

Header 1

Header 2

Header 3

Header 4

Header 5
Header 6

Tips

Only use headers to emphasise headings, not to bold or make text big.
Use sub headers to make supporting points to main points.
Use headers that go well with your style, you don’t always have to go with the rules!

Conclusion

Now you are set to use headings in your blog post! I hope this post helped with your heading needs. If you want to see more in this series make sure you like this post. Also if you have any ideas to give tips on when it comes to blogging let me know in the comments below! I hope you all have a lovely week and I will see you on Sunday!

XOXO
-Kat

Here are the websites that helped me write this post:

References:
https://www.w3schools.com/html/html_headings.asp
https://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_header.asp