It’s Already Over?!// My Thoughts on Attack on Titan Season 2! (SPOILERS!)

Happy Sunday and welcome to another blog post! Last week, sadly the last episode of “Attack on Titan Season 2” aired and I am left emotionless. Even though I knew ahead of time when “Attack on Titan Season 2” was first released that there was only going to be 12 episodes, I couldn’t help getting into each and every single one of them and wanting more. So since it is last the episode of the season, and we don’t know how long it will be until Season 3 (said to be released next year.. we shall see) let’s talk about it! There is a major spoiler alert for this blog post, so if you haven’t seen “Attack on Titan Season 2” and are planning on watching it, this blog post is not the post for you! But if you are caught up on Season 2, or you don’t care about it and would like to know my opinions, keep on reading! That being said I have lots to say so let’s just get right into it!

Opening Theme

First of course since we all know how I love a good opening theme song, let’s talk about the Season 2 opening animation and song. If you read my blog post “My Favorite Anime Openings” you already know that the opening animation for “Attack on Titan Season 1” is my top favorite. It gives me chill right at the beginning of the song and gets me pumped for the episode. I am happy to say that the opening lives up to the first one and is just as great. The song is just as intense (which goes great with how intense the show is) as the first opening and even though it doesn’t give you chills right away like the first opening does, it definitely gives you chills during it.
And that ending animation where everything just goes crazy…. If you aren’t pumped up for the episode after just watching the opening animation, I don’t know what will get you pumped up. I also love how they keep the same artist for the opening song as well. All around I have no complaints for the opening credits and I am pleased with how it turned out. I know that every time I listen to it just like the first opening, no how many times I watch it in a row, I will always get goose bumps!

If you want to watch the opening sequence you can click here to watch it:

The Story

Now that we’re pumped to watch the show from the awesome opening credits, let’s talk about the story. Even though there were only 12 episodes it doesn’t feel like it because each and every single episode is jam packed! Even that one episode where all that was happening was talking (if you’ve seen the season, you know what episode I’m talking about) was jam packed with story with the way the characters were talking to each other.
The season premiere was no exception. Right from the start they drop the bomb that Titans are inside of the walls and then introduces us to the Beast Titan, a Titan unlike any other one we’ve seen before (he looks like a hairy oversized monkey with abs…kinda).

 

After that without any warning the season dropped more and more things on us from left to right. There is an attack (which seemed to be controlled by the Beast Titan…Titans can control other Titans what?!) and some of Eren’s comrades are trapped in a tower unarmed surrounded by titans.

Then another bomb is dropped when we find out that not only is Ymir a Titan, but then suddenly Reiner tells Eren that he is the Armored Titan and that Bertholdt is the Colossal Titan. Not only that, but Reiner and Eren kidnap Eren and the injured Ymir and run away from the wall, headed to their “hometown”! And that’s only half way through the season! Thankfully those were the only massive bombs on us (my heart would have probably exploded if they dropped another one on us) and the rest of the season was the escape plan being pursued to save Eren and Ymir (let’s be honest.. Mostly just Eren).

I honestly forgot how intense the show was until finishing the season premiere. But now that I have seen the twelfth episode, I am craving more. I love the story because not only does it keep me at the edge of my seat and leaves me wanting more, but I get to see more a background of the characters. Season 1 was mostly revolved around Eren, Mikasa and Armin, but in this season we get to see more of the other comrades’ stories.

Moments of Confusion

In this season, we may have learned a lot about Titans, but we are also left questioning about a few things, especially when it came to Reiner’s and Bertholdt’s plan for Eren. I know that’s the point of why the people behind “Attack on Titan” did it, to get viewers wondering and wanting more, but at times when Reiner and Bertholdt was talking to each other while trying to escape with Eren and Ymir (before she had her flashback and changed their plans), the things they were saying just seemed a bit confusing to me. They of course know what they have in store for Eren but as an audience member looking into the story we are left confused (unless you’ve read the manga). All we know is that Eren has some kind of power (that is he not aware of) that the Titans know about and want. So Reiner’s and Bertholdt’s mission is handing over Eren to a higher titan… but that’s what I’m guessing.

They also were talking about getting Christa and Annie to their hometown as well, Annie being a comrade of Reiner and Bertholdt and Christa being an important member of the church (I will get into that more soon). It seems though that Reiner makes it seem that capturing and taking Christa is just as important of getting Eren to the “hometown”, and it is so important for Ymir to see Christa again that she’s willing to jeopardize their plan of escaping to go back and capture her right then. It even got to the point where they were saying how they wanted to save Christa from the dangers inside the wall… which confuses me as well to a point but it will probably be answered when I know more about the Titan/human relationship.

The show is already is high paced and intense, so when stuff like this happens and words are being said that confuses me and before I can stop and think “What did they say?” or “What’s going on?” they already moved on to something else, or something big happens you just have no idea what to think anymore.

I watched season 2 on Crunchyroll and reading the comments most people are saying things like “Read the manga.” or “It’s funny how people who haven’t read the manga say they aren’t giving too much information and people who have read the manga say they’re giving too much information. (about the human/titan relationship)” and while yes I could read the manga, and yes I would love to read the manga one day (I may actually read it to fill the emptiness inside me now that Season 2 is over) that moment of watching a new episode not knowing what is going to happen excites me, especially with how intense and fast this show goes. When I do decide to read the manga, I am excited to learn a lot of things character and story wise as well as get some answers to the Titan/human relationship. But until then if I have questions, I already plan on rewatching the season and series and multiple times. Everytime I watch it, I hope to catch more and more bits of information I didn’t before. And if I’m still confused, I can always research it as well!

Historia the Bad-Ass!

So like I said in the last point, one of the people Reiner and Bertholdt needed to capture was Christa because of her importance to the church (plus we all know Reiner has a huge crush on her too). I was a little curious on why Christa was important to the plan and after seeing Ymir’s background it sparked my curiosity more so I did some research and found out some spoilers and background about her that makes it all (well not all, there’s still so much that confuses me) make sense.

During the first couple of episodes of season 2, the Survey Corps is revealed that Christa may know about the walls having Titans inside them because of her family background and that Christa really isn’t the girl Eren and the gang got to know during the Training Corps. In reality she is actually Historia Reiss, a girl who has been hiding her and her family’s true identity until she joined the Survey Corps and got to know Ymir.

The thing that makes Historia such a bad-ass in my opinion is the growth in this season. In Season 1, Christa was scared and was living a life treating people a certain way to make it seem like she was a good person. But in Season 2 with the help of Ymir and certain events, Christa has accepted her true identity and who she is as a person. She has found the courage to make her first Titan kill ever and to live for herself. To become what her true name means, to become in her own way a GODDESS. And that in my opinion makes her pretty bad-ass (and someone I want to cosplay one day). I can’t wait to see what else Historia can do in seasons to come.

Lack of Levi

So speaking of bad-ass people, was anyone else sad with the lack of Levi in this season?! I mean Levi was still in the season and still played an important role, but not as much as he was in the first season. I know he was on the sidelines because of an injury and in the first couple of episodes he plays a big role in getting Minister Nick to fess up about important information but other than that, he wasn’t in it till the very end. And speaking of the very end, can I say I got emotional with Levi’s reaction to the maybe truth about Titans and Erwin’s reaction?! Oh man. Plus doing a little research about Levi I found that Attack on Titan did a OVA about Levi’s background?! It’s called “Attack on Titan OVA No Regrets”!!

The Season Finale

So of course since we are talking about Season 2, I have to talk about the finale because OH MY GOODNESS THAT SEASON FINALE!! (if you didn’t have enough spoilers already… this part is just packed with them…you have been warned).

The episode begins with Eren and Mikasa (somehow he managed to get away from Reiner and Bertholdt) and is faced in front of the smiling Titan that killed Eren’s mother years ago. Mikasa tries to attack the Titan but due to injuries she can’t and Eren is in no shape to fight (look at those stubby fingers!) so Hannes bravely goes for the attack. He fought well but soon enough the smiling Titan captured him and started to move him closer to it’s mouth. Seeing his dear friend in danger caused Eren to want to transform to his Titan form, even though his body wasn’t ready for it. But alas no matter how many times Eren took a bite in his stubby hands, he couldn’t transform and like so many years ago, Eren helplessly watched a loved one get eaten by the same smiling Titan.

In rage Eren cries and laughs to the messed up world (literally all his comrades and friends are fighting against Titans) around him yelling how nothing has changed and that in all the years of training and becoming better, he still isn’t strong enough to make an impact on anything. Mikasa then tells him that Eren is wrong and that he has always been there by Mikasa’s side. Time is at a stop as Mikasa tells Eren how much of an impact he has made on her and almost kisses him but is stopped when Eren moves and stands up facing the Titan. He tells Mikasa that he will always and forever be there to wrap the red scarf around her neck and then with a punch, Eren somehow controls the surrounding Titans to attack and eat the smiling Titan?! The Survey Corps take this opportunity to retreat and escape. While fleeing, Ymir (still in Titan form) sees a future for Historia in behind the walls now that she sees what Eren is truly capable of even though Eren is nowhere near aware of his new power. Then we hear the word “Coordinate” for the first time from Reiner who seems very unhappy with the fact that Eren has this power and then suddenly through Eren’s rage he directs (without him unaware of it of course) the Titans to attack Reiner as they make their escape. Ymir then decides that she is turning herself into Reiner and Bertholdt parting from Historia (I wonder what her true motives are…). The Survey Corps make their escape with no more casualties… and that was just the first half of the episode!

A short time has passed and Commander Hange and Conny come in with some disturbing news… that in theory (they don’t have full proof) the true identities of Titans are actually humans. This news leaves Commander Levi and Commander Pyxis shocked but Commander Erwin is smiling at the fact that he has taken a step in learning more about the origins of Titans which makes Levi almost sick and more disturbed (aka what I said before about Levi in the last section). Meanwhile Armin tells Eren about his theory on why he thinks the Titans attacked the smiling Titan and then Reiner without harming any humans and though it may be a burden and hard for Eren, he steps up to the position to help pay for all the lives that were taken for his sake. The episode ends with the appearance of the Beast Titan and a new character we haven’t seen before and then left there to wonder what is going to be in store next for Eren and the gang. All in all I was on the edge of my seat the whole episode.

To say what I feel like about this finale in one emotion is nearly impossible because I felt so many emotions after watching it, I still feel them even know a week later after watching it.

What Next?

So there you go, my long review and thoughts of season 2! All together after everything I just said, I can honestly say that other than just a few minor things (mostly the lack of Levi) this season is just as wonderful as Season 1 plus more. In this season not only did we get to learn more about the Titan/human relationship but we really got to know more about the characters. Like I said before, the first season we really got to know Eren and his friends. But for the other characters, we only got a glance and we didn’t get to know about who they are and why they joined the Training Corps. So seeing the character development in this new season really makes the other characters more likable and relatable.

Each week it was exciting to sit down and get sucked into each episode. Then after finishing each episode, it gave me a sense of excitement for the next episode because I spent the week thinking over the episode and wondering what’s going to happen next. So in that aspect I am really going to miss this anime until the next season (which will hopefully won’t be too long of a wait) because it gave me something to look forwards to each week.

Now that it is over, I do feel sad and empty but at the same time I have this fire inside of me to know more, especially with some of the confusion I had before. And just because there isn’t a new episode to watch every week, doesn’t mean there aren’t other things I can preoccupy myself with in the Attack on Titan world. There is always the manga to read to help clear up some confusion. After reading that if I am somehow still confused, I can always look it up thanks to the wonderful thing we have called the internet! Also, not only is there that background story on Levi (which we all know I am excited to watch) but I just found out that there is an “Attack on Titan: Junior High” series I didn’t know about! I was watching some clips and I was laughing so hard because just seeing the characters in a not so intense atmosphere and as little chibi characters is both strange and adorable all in one! Plus on top of that, I do plan on rewatching the season and binge watching the whole series again multiple times, so I think I will be ok!

Conclusion

I really hope (if you stuck for this far) you enjoyed this post! I really love this anime, so of course when I went to sit down and talk about it, I had a lot to talk about so I do apologize for how long it took for me to get this post out. What did you think of “Attack on Titan Season 2”? Were there any points I missed talking about or did you just miss Levi as much as I did in this season? Have you watched either “Attack on Titan: Junior High” or “Attack on Titan OVA No Regrets”? Knowing me, after watching them I will probably do a review on those on here so that’s something to look forwards to as well! If you have any ideas for blog posts in the Attack on Titan world, anime or just anything in general as always let me know in the comments below! I’ve also noticed that on here there isn’t a way to update you guys on announcements or when a blog post is going to be late, so I am here to let you know that if you want to get announcements or just wanna know the weird stuff I do in my life, I have social media! If you want to follow me, I have an Instagram account @doodles.by.kat and I also have a Facebook page! Just type @doodles.by.kat or @katarinastarkinfo! Other than all of that, I hope you all have a great week and I will see you guys hopefully on Tuesday or Wednesday!

XOXO,
Kat

Leave a Reply

