Back to School Tips// Little Update on Me!!

Hello and welcome to another blog post! I know it’s been a very VERY long time since I’ve written a blog post but a lot has happened this past month. So much that the stress of trying to keep up with my blog schedule was a stress I could not handle. I could get into more of it but things are still pretty stressful and a lot of things around me are changing all at once. And though life has knocked me down multiple times this past month at the end of the day I still have my dreams. After a long and hard day dealing with stress and my lack of mental health I still have the things in life that keep me happy and keep me working through it all. That is why as of today instead of sitting around and dealing with the stress, anxiety, and depression that is growing inside of me I want to get back into going after my dream so I thought I would first come here and say hello!

One of the things that happened this past month that was planned (no matter how much I didn’t want it to) was that I celebrated my 25th birthday! Yes, the big 25…the halfway point of saying goodbye to the last of my young years and hello to true adulthood. Now, normally people my age are out of college and starting adulthood with the job of their dreams. If not working on their careers, they are getting married, or are already married and having a family. Or they have both their dream career and a family.

I am definitely not normal. As well all know well by now. I am neither working at my dream job or married and have a family of my own. I am slowly working my way through college by working a full-time job to pay for college all out of pocket with no help financially. Before I was emotionally stuck in the middle between feeling like I needed to get through college and start my career but now that I’m 25 the emotions of getting married and starting to have a family is now in the mix. All these emotions are very confusing and at times overwhelming.

So when life throws things my way all at once I have to put my college plan aside to get through it. I know I’m working my way and when I do finally reach those goals I will be debt free and a better place but right now it is hard for me mentally and emotionally because I watched my fellow classmates graduate and now I get to see all the stuff they accomplish while I feel like I am going nowhere.

Unfortunately, with everything going on, I couldn’t afford to take classes this fall semester, which makes me feel like I am once again taking a step back instead of forwards towards a better future.

So to try not to let all the emotions get to me (more than it already has) I thought it would be a fun idea to give some back to school tips to the readers who are going to school this semester! So without further ado and this long intro let’s get into the tips!

Study Hard!

This one is self-explanatory. You want to have fun but also remember that you are in school to get an education and learn something… so might as well do that while you are there!

Get plenty of sleep!

Sleep is very important. Without it, paying attention in class is a lot harder and you could miss out on important information that could be on an exam! Plus getting a good night’s rest sets you up for success and you wake up feeling ready for the day!

Set lots of alarms!

I was never a morning person (still as an adult I am still not) so it is always a good idea to set multiple alarms. If you don’t wake up to the first alarm, you’ll sooner or later wake up if you have multiple ones!

Do not get in the habit of getting to class late!

We are all human so being late is bound to happen to all of us. But if you make a habit of getting to class late, it could not only get in the way of your grades but can create worse habits down the line. So get in the habit of being on time first before getting in the habit of being late!

Get homework done/study for tests!

Speaking of getting in good habits, get in the habit of getting homework done right when you get home. I know homework is a pain and no one wants to do it but the sooner you get it done the more time you have to do other things!

Always write down due dates/test exam days!

You don’t want to be that person who forgot about the exam and is suddenly cramming in as much studying as they can before the test. Always keep a planner with you to stay organized with major due dates and exam days. A planner is also useful for writing down events or a work schedule if you add on a part time job.

Have confidence while taking exams!

Unless you forgot about the exam and crammed everything at the end if you took the time to study for an exam have confidence going into the exam! I know test taking was always the hardest for me personally so from experience just knowing that you did your best to prepare for the exam can help get yourself through the test with confidence!

Keep your friends close!

Your friends are your biggest supporters. Not only are they there to have sleepovers and talk about boys but in a way, they can empower you to be better in school and in after school activities. Plus if you have a close friend in a class you don’t enjoy, that class can become a little more bearable knowing your friend is in the same class.

Make new friends!

Are you going to a new school this year? Or are you in a class that none of your friends are in? Now would be a great opportunity to make new friends! I know it’s a scary (even as an adult, I am scared to introducing myself let alone opening myself up to new people) but you could end up making a really good friend in the end!

Don’t let boys get in the way of schoolwork!…

SCHOOLWORK IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE CUTE BOY WHO SITS IN FRONT OF YOU! Don’t let them distract you from getting homework done and getting good grades. Yes, dating can be fun but if you get hurt your grades will pay for it as well.

…or get between friends!

There’s gonna be a time when you and one of your friends have a crush on the same guy. Don’t let the boy get in between friendships… boys don’t last that long but friendships last forever! I know from experience that if you let a boy between a friendship, you may lose that friend! If you want to keep that friend, choose fries before guys! (sorry, had to put that in ;D)

Don’t get too overwhelmed!

Things at a time can get a little overwhelming. From keeping grades up to having a social life, to participating in after school activities. Some even add a part time job to the mix. Staying busy is always a good thing because it keeps you out of trouble, but if it starts getting to the point that you can’t concentrate on school work or be taking care of yourself then maybe it is time to cut back on things. If you are in multiple extracurricular activities, which activity do you enjoy the most? If you cut back on activities you don’t enjoy as much you can concentrate on becoming better at the one you do enjoy the most. Plus that gives you more time to rest or have that social life you want, and keep your grades up as well!

Conclusion

Well, that’s all of the tips! In all honesty, the most important tip for going back to school is to work hard but don’t forget to have fun along the way. I hope you enjoyed this blog post; I always have fun with these types of posts and it lets me have time to forget about all the stresses and troubles of life.

Before I go I just wanted to thank every single one of you for being so patient with me this past month. I can’t promise that I’m going to be back to my schedule right away but what I can promise is that I love blogging and even if I take long breaks, I will never stop writing and never stop chasing after my dreams.

If you are new around here, did you know that I also have social media?! If you want to know what I do in my daily life or find another way to connect with me you can reach me on other platforms as well!

Instagram: @doodles.by.kat

Facebook: Search @doodles.by.kat or @katarinastarkinfo

I hope you are all doing well! If you have any ideas for a new blog post idea or I forgot any tips for back to school, let me know in the comments below! Until then, I will see you in the next post!

XOXO,
Kat

Leave a Reply

