A Quick Thought

Happy Sunday/Monday and welcome to another blog post! This is going to be a short one, but I just had a quick thought that I wanted to share with you.

As you know if you read my last update blog I just recently turned 25 years old. Turning 25 was really hard for me because I feel I am stuck between the “I need to get through school and start my career” stage and the “I want to settle down and have a family” stage which at times can be very overwhelming to think about. While I was relaxing, I suddenly found myself having a random thought.

After graduating high school when my classmates when to different colleges for different majors and opportunities I decided at the time that I wasn’t ready for school yet (I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with my life) I went straight into the workforce in retail until I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I knew early on that I was a hard worker and had good work ethics so I decided that since I knew I was going to be there for a while (and needed more money to save for school) I might as well move up and be apart of the management team. After a couple of interviews and a lot of letdowns I was never promoted with that company and even though it got to me at times I kept trying. I worked even harder than I was already working and sucked up to the right people but still didn’t get the management job I wanted. Months later I decided to leave that company and started working at a different company on top of finally starting school.

Fast forward to present day and while some of my classmates are now graduated and having a career and families, I am now a shift supervisor at Starbucks. On top of that even though it is taking forever (I am paying for it all out of pocket instead of taking out loans) I am going to school and working on my dream with my website and being able to write blog posts for you guys! I came to the conclusion that even though I didn’t go to school right away like my other classmates, 6 years later (oh my gosh it’s really been that long since I graduated high school) I have something that I worked hard towards and have reached stepping stone. I love Starbucks (it’s actually almost my 2 year anniversary there) and even though sometimes can be stressful and hard, aka the dreaded Unicorn Frappuccino, it is a fun job and has great benefits. Not only does it take the right place to present a new opportunity but it took 6 years of hard work and let downs to get to the place I am now. Thinking back on it now I am glad that I made that choice to go into the workforce first before school because through all that work it made me appreciate the workforce as well as how important my school work is because I am paying for it myself.

Having this random thought has made me feel a little better about getting older because now not only have I gained a little more respect for myself, but I know when I get down about what I haven’t accomplished in life I can remind myself of what I have worked for and have accomplished and what I am working towards now.

I hope you guys enjoyed this little thought I had randomly and now I pass this question to you. What are some accomplishments you are proud of? Let me know in the comments below as well as ideas for the next blog post. Until then, I hope you all have a wonderful week and I will see you in the next blog post.

XOXO,

Kat